Tips & Tricks · Tutorial

Simple Flawless & Dewy Foundation Routine 

I have finally found my absolute favorite combination of products for a foundation base that looks so natural yet flawless. When I use this specific concoction of products, my skin looks super glowy but not greasy or oily. The way the products sits on the face looks exactly like natural skin does, sans imperfections.
I’m listing everything that I use for this, but you can definitely swap out products like highlight and contour shades, blush shades, etc. but do your best to use a product with a similar formula if you can. Since the aforementioned products are the ones I’ve tested and know what results they yield, I can guarantee that you’ll enjoy how this specific mixture of products works.

First cleanse with face wash, a wipe or micellar water and moisturize.I use this one from Garnier, it’s very effective and affordable, also great for sensitive skin!

Garnier Micellar Water

Next comes moisturizer 

Whatever moisturizer you feel best with is fine, I tend to switch mine up and use one specified to treat my skin needs at the time (breakouts, dryness, and various other annoyances).

Next, add a generous amount of Maybelline Baby Skin Pore Eraser to your T Zone and blend and tap it into the skin across your cheeks, nose, forehead and chin…anywhere you want to smoothe out texture.

Maybelline Baby Skin Pore Eraser

Then, my current favorite tool to use to apply foundation is the 2nd largest Oval Brush from a typical 10 piece oval brush set…because it’s SO FREAKIN’ FAST!

Large Oval Brush

I first put 2 or 3 pumps of L’Oréal True Match Lumi Foundation onto my oval brush and then drip 2-3 drops of Tarte Maracuja Oil on top of the foundation on the brush and first “wipe” it all over and then buff it into the skin. I usually go in with another 2 or 3 pumps of foundation and a couple drops of oil and apply another layer in the same way.

L'Oréal True Match Lumi Foundation Tarte Maracuja Oil
L’Oréal True Match Lumi Foundation Tarte Maracuja Oil

Once that’s set into my face nicely I apply my Urban Decay Naked Skin concealer to my under eye and all the other places you generally highlight with concealer. I add one drop of oil to my ELF contouring cream and apply that with a smaller oval brush. 

Urban Decay Naked Skin Concealer ELF Cream Contour and Blush Palette St Lucia Small Oval Brush

Then, I’ll blend it all out with a beauty blender. Ever since I bought this magical sponge I can’t finish a makeup look without it! I also cannot for the life of me find a cheaper dupe for the Beauty Blender, it’s definitely a one of a kind sponge material because nothing else is quite like it!

Original Pink Beauty Blender

Next I set my under eye with Ofra banana highlighting powder (amazing!) And add a very light layer of Rimmel Stay Matte Translucent Pressed Powder to set the rest of my face by lightly pressing it on with a Beauty blender. You can use a brush for this too.

Rimmel Stay Matte Translucent Pressed Powder Ofra Banana Highlighting Powder

I’ll then set my ELF cream contour with the NYX Contour and Highlight Pro Palette with the contour shade ‘Sculpt’.
Finally, add a preferably glowy blush, I really like Manna Kadar Blush in the shade Paradise. Then, of course, PACK ON the NYX Ice Queen highlighter from the same NYX palette. 

NYX Contour and Highlight Pro Palette

Manna Kadar Paradise Blush

Finally, finish with NYX dewy finish long lasting setting spray.

NYX Dewy Finish Long Lasting Setting Spray

The first day I did this routine I was SO pleased with how my skin looked all day. Since I used a lot of glowy and dewy products, it would be a good idea to have some translucent powder or blotting papers in your purse for touch ups, should you get a little oily during the day depending on your skin type. I tend to be a bit on the oily side, but this routine worked perfectly for me even though I used a facial oil, luminous foundation and a dewy setting spray. I didn’t need to touch up but everyone is different, so that tip to keep translucent powder or blotting papers in your purse is just in case!

I’m so confident in this routine and how it looked that I’m going to show you guys a completely unedited, un-retouched, filter free, close up photo of my face with hard flash lighting…so much so that you can clearly see my pores…enjoy lol. Luckily it’s only noticeable when up really close.

BTW I have big pores (thanks, Mom!) and no matter what pore minimizing product I use, they are always visible when this close up. Besides the large pores (that are only seen up close) I think the rest of my skin looks very natural and flawless even though I’ve applied plenty of products to my face.

Hopefully you enjoyed this quick foundation routine post and that you might give it a try yourself! Let me know if this routine worked for you!

Lots of love,

-CandeeGlam 💋

Leave a Reply

