diy · false lash tips · Mascara · Pictorial · Tips & Tricks · Tutorial

How To Get The Longest Lashes With Mascara.

I’m partial to wearing falsies, I love the way they spice up a look and open up the eyes. There’s nothing I love more than having goddess-like lashes, super dramatic and long. 

What I do not like is the process of applying false lashes. It can be tricky, time consuming and unbearably frustrating when you can’t get them into place or keep the ends from detaching. (I’ll be doing a post soon giving tips and different ways to apply your lashes, fear not!)

Sometimes you don’t have the time (or the patience) to apply falsies, and for those times this rather quick process using 2 different mascaras and a powder will give you long, luscious lashes that don’t require glue and the patience of a saint. 

All the products needed for this lash enhancing process.

This is what my lashes look like with no product on them, just curled. I’ll show you progress photos of each step as I apply these products on one eye only to show how well it lengthens and volumizes my eyelashes. 

No product, just curled.

My first step is combing out my lashes with a clean spoolie so they are not tangled or grouped together, which will help avoid clumping. I then apply a coat of volumizing non-waterproof mascara, I went with a personal favorite: Maybelline Colossal Volume Express in black. I love it because the wand and the formula are on point! It’s helpful to use a non-waterproof mascara first when layering with a waterproof mascara later, it will make removal easier as well as make your mascara last longer throughout the day or night. 

One coat of Maybelline Colossal Volume Express mascara on the left eye only.

Next, you’ll need a fluffy eye shadow brush and some kind of powder. You can use loose setting powder, pressed powder foundation, or a light colored matte eyeshadow that is powdery. I used my Maybelline Fit Me pressed powder. You can use tweezers or your nail (if it’s clean) to kick up some powder and pick it up on your brush without tapping off the excess. Take your brush and dust the powder gently over your lashes, making sure to coat the top and bottom without disturbing the first coat of mascara or moving around your lashes. I advised using a light, matte color so you can clearly see where you’ve applied it and if you missed a spot, and so there are no glitter pieces making a mess to clean up on your under eye. Foundation powder works well because you can brush off or blend in any fallout and it’s no big deal. This step with the powder will give your next coat of mascara more to grab onto, making them look fuller and longer.

Adding powder to the lashes making them appear thicker.

The final step is to add a coat or two of waterproof mascara to finish off the look. I chose another personal favorite mascara, L’Oréal Voluminous Carbon Black Waterproof, it too has a fantastic wand and formula. You’ll want to be sure to coat the top and underneath your lashes so none of the powder is visible. This will lock in your look and give you the appearance of falsies without all the mess and fuss. 

The final results, wispie and full lashes without falsies!

Remember to always wiggle your mascara wand into the base of your lashes and continue to move it slightly back and forth while combing through your lashes. This is the best way to avoid getting clumps in your mascara, I also like to comb gently through my lashes after applying mascara with a clean spoolie. This separates and removes excess product resulting in better looking lashes. It’s best to do this before the mascara dries completely as it is easier to separate them and get them to stay that way.
If you happen to get mascara on your eyelids or below your lash line just leave it alone to dry as attempting to wipe it off when wet will just cause nasty smudges. You can bring that handy spoolie back into action once the mascara dries and lightly flick the mascara mess ups off with the bristles. If you’re not already wearing eyeshadow a concealer brush with makeup remover or concealer can hide those mistakes very easily.

Have a look below at the progress photos all together, quite a difference from one eye to the other. The left eye looks fresh, brighter and more open than the right. 

I hope this method helps you out when you just don’t have it in you to attempt falsies, but still want to look absolutely fierce! 

Slay on, girlfriends!

-CandeeGlam 💋
Have any comments, requests or questions? Leave them for me in the comments section below and I’ll gladly answer them!

6 thoughts on “How To Get The Longest Lashes With Mascara.

  1. You always post the most creative hacks! I’m with you on the false lashes – I just don’t have the time or patience to always be applying them. I’ll have to try this trick!!❤️

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you Gabby! I have a few tricks up my sleeve and I love sharing them with you guys! I definitely agree, as much as I love falsies they’re not an everyday thing for me. This method is much quicker! Thanks for commenting Gabby! ❤❤❤❤

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I don’t think falsies are comfortable so I’m definitely doing to be using this trick! Thanks so much for posting. Have you ever tried like lash enhancing fibers instead of the powder? I thought about trying that for more volume.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re very welcome! Thank you so much for showing your support & commenting! I’ve never tried fibre mascaras but only because I’ve heard that they are very dry and it flakes off in pieces onto your under eye. With the powder you don’t need to worry about that happening 😊😘❤

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

