diy

Cute & Simple DIY Makeup Brush Holders

While looking at my disaster of a makeup desk last week I realized that it was time to get my butt in gear and organize this chaos! I had ordered new brushes and knew I had nowhere to store them. I got online and searched for makeup organizers and was surprised by the prices. I will always find or look for the least expensive route no matter what I’m trying to get, and I knew this could be done on the cheap. I also love to repurpose things and had already done so by using old glass jars with a bow tied around it as holder for the brushes I already have.

I headed to the dollar store and purchased all the supplies I needed to make my own brush holders. I picked up 4 small metal candle lanterns, a sheet of rhinestone stickers, 2 packages of butterfly decals and already had some instant Krazy Glue at home.

The pretty pink lanterns were nice enough to use as is, but I felt it was missing something
These rhinestones were connected in horizontal lines and already have adhesive on them, making it super easy to apply

Next, all I really had to do was peel off the rhinestones and place them in a ring around the top and bottom of the candle lanterns. I was expecting to need to reinforce them with glue, but the adhesive already on the stones was surprisingly strong and takes 24 hrs to fully bond. They have held up very well so far. 

The brush holders with gorgeous rhinestones attached. Just one step left!

Finally, I added the butterfly decals by gluing them right underneath the top row of rhinestones. I only did one, but you can definitely get more creative with adding the butterflies. 

The finished DIY brush holder project! Don’t be afraid to get creative with it and make it your own!

I really do love how these turned out! They were also very affordable to make, here is a breakdown of what this project costs to make:

  • 4 Lanterns at $2 each 
  • 1/3 Sheet of Rhinestones at $1.87
  • 4 Butterflies at $0.42
  • Krazy Glue  $0 (already had)

Total project cost: $10.29 

Personally I love these so much and can’t wait to see them on my new makeup desk setup! I plan on doing a makeup desk tour once everything is in order.

What do you think about this makeup storage hack? Would you make these for your own collection? Leave me a comment, let me know what you think and what you would like to see in the future!

4 thoughts on “Cute & Simple DIY Makeup Brush Holders

    1. You are just the sweetest!!! I’m just starting out with blogging and it really means so much to me that people enjoy my content. You’ve been so supportive, thank you so much for your kind words ā¤ā¤ā¤

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

