Reviews · Swatches

24 Kleancolor Madly Matte Lip Gloss Swatches & Review

I recently landed an amazing deal on matte liquid lipsticks that were actually affordable enough to purchase the entire shade range that they had at the time. I had been on the hunt for some good matte lipsticks for a solid 6 months before I came upon a deal from the website http://www.shopmissa.com which has a TON of makeup, hair accessories, and other beauty related items all for $1! For myself and others living in Canada, everything usually works out to $1.30 per item on Shop Miss A, which is still unheard of!

They had an incredible deal going on at the time: 24 Kleancolor Madly Matte Lip Glosses for $20 USD! I couldn’t pass up that deal so I ordered it immediately before they sold out. It took quite a while to arrive in my mailbox, over a month, actually. That might be a deal breaker for some, but at that price I was happy to wait, although impatient and excitedly anxious to get my hands on those beautiful lippies! Keep an eye out for their bulk sales, they’re usually a steal!

Kleancolor has named the like colors and bundled them together in groups of 6. There are: The Mauves(nudes), The Pinks, The Purples and The Reds. They have since added more shades to the Madly Matte line, such as browns and darker trendy colors like blue. I will be purchasing and posting about the new shades in the near future. Until then, I’ll post the shades and names of the ones I currently have and tell you a bit about what I think of them.

The Mauves/Nudes:

These swatches were taken at night so it’s not as true to color as I would like (thanks, insomnia!) I’m going to get these in natural light and replace them ASAP! Left is with flash and right is without.

Top to bottom:

  • Bubble Gum
  • Cheeky
  • Clay
  • Majesty
  • Winterberry
  • Hippy

The Pinks:

Left is natural light and right is with flash. The natural light is very true to color for these shades.

Top to bottom:

  • Futuristic
  • Tulip
  • Raspberry Sherbet
  • Mademoiselle
  • Confetti
  • Wineberry

The Purples:

These swatches were also taken at night. The left is with flash and actually very true to color, but I still plan on redoing these in natural light.

Top to bottom:

  • French Lilac
  • Cupid
  • Magenta Crush
  • Grape
  • Royal
  • Sangria

The Reds:

The left photo was taken with flash and the right in natural lighting. I believe the left to be truest to color, although it’s a close call.

Top to bottom:

  • Punch
  • Caliente
  • Rose
  • True Love
  • Jam
  • Bitten

Now on to my review of these inexpensive matte liquid lipstick. Firstly, don’t let the name throw you. They’re called madly matte lip gloss, but they are not a gloss at all. They all dry down to a completely matte finish and are not sticky once they’ve dried. This is an important aspect of any lipstick in my opinion. I don’t like my lips to feel sticky or heavy with product. These are very opaque with just a small amount of product, however the super light colors are less opaque and tend to streak if you apply more than one layer.

The wear time for these is pretty good. I got about 7 hours of wear time before I noticed that a touch up was needed, just around the creases of my lips from eating and drinking. It does start to wear off and some of them crumble slightly around the corners of my mouth when I wear them. The best way to avoid this is to apply as light a layer as possible, and when touching up, press the lipstick into your lips with a quick patting motion. I found that this worked better to not disturb the original layer of lipstick than gliding it on with the applicator. I did find these lipsticks somewhat drying, but not as bad as some others I’ve tried. Most liquid lipsticks are at least a little bit drying, so I expect that at this point.

These are also rather liquidy and not so much creamy as compared to, say, NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream. This might make it difficult to evenly distribute the product because it has a regular doe foot applicator. These lippies also smell SO good, like vanilla cupcakes! I love that!

Overall, the price and performance of this lipstick line is a truly rare find! I would definitely recommend them!

Leave a Reply

