Pictorial · Skincare · Tips & Tricks

Skincare: How Much Product Do You Really Need To Use?

Most of us are using some form of cosmetic skincare products by our late teens and early 20’s, even if it is just a basic moisturizer before applying makeup or prior to going to bed. So, how much of each skincare product do you really need to be using? 

Sometimes directions or instructions on the packaging will tell you approximately how much to use, a dime sized amount for example. Other times the directions don’t offer any guidance other than when and where to apply it, leaving you wondering how much to use and if you’re wasting your product or not using enough. 

This is frustrating and obviously a problem, at least for some. So, I’ve done a little bit of research and came up with this simple, visual guide for how much product you should be using for each of the following common skincare products: serums, exfoliating scrubs, eye creams, masks, moisturizers and cleansers.

This guide should help you be mindful of how much product you use vs how much product is necessary. Keep in mind I have near average hand size for a woman, the back of my hand measures roughly 3.5″ in length starting at the wrist and 3″ in width across the back of my hand. 

This visual guide should give you a little more insight into how much of each product you need to use.

The product you need the least of is your eye creams, since it’s only meant to be applied to a small part of your face. I would recommend you use the amount pictured above for each eye. I used the top of my (clean & sanitized) pinky nail to scoop the eye cream out of the pot. 

You’ll need about the same amount of serum as you do eye cream, just a tiny bit more. If your serum has a pump, you might want to go with a pump and a half. 

The amount of moisturizer, masks and exfoliating scrubs you use should all be about the same. Of course, everyone has a different size face, so when it comes to these three products make sure you’re using enough to cover your entire face. 

Your cleanser should be what you use the most of. The amount I have pictured above is for one cleansing. If you do more than one round of cleansing you should be using this amount each time. 

I hope this post helped you! Let me know what you think in the comments

*Feel free to share my visual guide photo, but please do not remove the watermark or forget to credit my blog if you do!*

-CandeeGlam 💋

7 thoughts on “Skincare: How Much Product Do You Really Need To Use?

  1. I should probably have mentioned that the amount of cleanser is how much I use on my electric cleansing brush with medium to soft bristles. I’ll likely do a blog post about the cleanings brush I’m talking about 😊

    Like

Leave a comment